Another AFCON Without Super Eagles Set To Begin In Gabon

For the second time in a row the African Cup of nations will begin in Gabon on January 14, 2017  without the Super Eagles and this is really shameful for a nation that was supposed to be at the 2015 edition as defending champions and also failed again in the 2017 edition.

The last time the Super Eagles did not participate in two consecutive Cup of nations was in South Africa 1996 and Burkina Fasso 1998, but it was not because they did not qualify, but because the then Head of State the Late Gen. Sanni Abacha stopped them from participating in the 1996 edition, while CAF now banned Nigeria from the 1998 edition.


Iheanacho and Iwobi will be missing out in this edition

It is quite unfortunate that the likes of Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi are missing out on opportunities to showcase their talents on Africa’s topmost continental football event. This will deny them opportunities to jostle for other individual awards that are capable of enriching their status as footballers in the near future.

The last time Nigerians shared the joy of being winners in Sports was in 2013, when the Super Eagles won the AFCON title for a third time. Since then, they have resolved to making themselves happy by following their various European clubs faithfully which has only guaranteed sectional joys to a part of the Nigerian fans, while they hope that national joy will come up some day in the future.

Missing out on two consecutive Africa Cup of nations has definitely denied the nation an opportunity to extend the number of time Nigeria won the Africa Cup of nations. Nigeria first won the Africa Cup of nations in 1980, the second in 1994 and third in 2013 being at two consecutive Cup of nations will probably afford us the opportunities to attempt to win it back-to-back or within a short period, rather than waiting after several years before winning the title again.

Share this:
Facebook Comments
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Security Check *