Barca Win Third Consecutive Copa Del Rey To Give Luis Enrique A Parting Gift

Barcelona disarmed a determined Alaves in Luis Enrique’s last match in charge, winning their third consecutive Copa del Rey title with special thanks to Lionel Messi, Neymar and Alcacer who all scored to end the scoreline 3-1 at the Vicente Calderon stadium.

The former Celta Vigo manager announced his planned departure from Camp Nou at the start of March, with his side then falling short of rivals Real Madrid in LaLiga and Juventus in the Champions League.

Though Barca were victorious, but it was a disappointing season for Barcelona who finished runners-up to Real Madrid in La Liga and were eliminated from the Champions League by Juventus in the quarter-finals without scoring a single goal in both legs.

Barcelona however made some significant records as Luis Enrique’s team retained the trophy for the third time, having beaten Athletic Bilbao and Sevilla in the last two finals.

Messi, who struck the opener after exchanging passes with Neymar outside the penalty area, became the first player to score in four Copa finals since Athletic Bilbao’s Telmo Zarra in 1950.

Share this:

Facebook Comments
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Security Check *