BBC African Footballer Award: Can Moses Edge Salah And Mane To Win Award?

Super Eagles and Chelsea wing-back Victor Moses is on a five-man shortlist for the prestigious BBC African Footballer of the Year award, where he will contend with Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Mohammed Salah (Liverpool), Naby Keita (RB Leipzig), and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund)

The nomination is the second he has gotten after recently receiving nomination for the African Footballer of The Year Award earlier this month, from the continent’s football governing body CAF.

Moses who made the shortlist for the BBC award helped Chelsea win the Premier League title and reach the FA Cup final, all from the new position of right wing-back.

On the international stage, Moses played significant role in helping Nigeria book a Russia 2018 World Cup ticket where he scored three goals during the qualifiers. Interestingly, Nigeria were the first¬† African country to qualify and he was named in CAF’s continent-wide best XI.

Moses will basically contend with Liverpool’s duo of Mohammed Salah and Sadio Mane, who also helped their nations Egypt and Senegal qualify for the Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup.

According to reports from Chelsea website, only two previous Chelsea players have won the prestigious award and they are Michael Essien (2006) and Didier Drogba (2009).

Voting for the Chelsea star continues on the BBC website and will come to an end on Monday November 27th, 2017.


Share this:
Facebook Comments
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Security Check *