Brazil’s Exit Marks The End of South America In Russia World Cup

Brazil’s 1-2 defeat by Belgium in the second quarterfinal match of the Russia 2018 World Cup means the five South Americans in the tournament are all out.

Brazil and Uruguay were the last two South American teams remaining in the quarterfinal stage, but France sent Uruguay packing after a 2-0 defeat then Brazil also joined same day.

With France and Belgium already through to the semifinal, two other European teams will join after the remaining two semifinal matches are played.

For the fifth time since the World Cup was founded, Europe will have four teams in the semifinal. The first 1934 ( Italy, Czechoslovakia, Germany and Austria) 1966- (England, West Germany, Portugal and Soviet Union), the third in 1982 (Italy, West Germany, Poland, France) and fourth 2006(Italy, France, Germany, Portugal).

So far, no other federation have reached the last four without European teams being among and no other federation have had their teams alone in the semifinal stage of the World Cup.

Share this:
Facebook Comments
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Security Check *