FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017: Meet The 8 Champions That Would Compete for The Prestigious Trophy

Russia is set host the FIFA Confederations Cup, the second most recognized FIFA Tournament after the FIFA World Cup, which is expected to hold from June 17 to July 2, 2017. Sport Intelligence takes you round the 8 teams that would be hoping to do their various continents proud.

AFRICA: Cameroon-Cameroon will represent Africa after winning the CAF Africa Cup of Nations Gabon 2017. The Indomitable Lions came from behind to beat Egypt 2-1 in the final in February.

OCEANIA: New Zealand-New Zealand won the OFC Nations Cup, which was played in Papua New Guinea May-June 2016, and they will represent Oceania at the FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017

EUROPE: Portugal-Portugal beat France 1-0 in extra-time of the UEFA EURO 2016 final on 10 July 2016 to earn the right to represent Europe at the FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017.

SOUTH AMERICA: Chile- Chile will compete in the FIFA Confederations Cup for the first time after winning the 2015 Copa America. The hosts of the South American showpiece triumphed, beating Argentina 4-1 on penalties.

CONCACAF: Mexico-2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup winners Mexico won a one-match head-to-head play-off against 2013 Gold Cup champions USA to seal their place at Russia 2017.

ASIA: Australia-Australia qualified for Russia 2017 by winning the 2015 AFC Asian Cup. The Socceroos lifted the trophy on home soil, edging out Korea Republic 2-1 in a dramatic final on 31 January 2015.

HOST: Russia-As hosts of the tournament, Russia qualify automatically for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup.

WORLD CUP WINNER: Germany-By winning the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil, Germany guaranteed themselves a slot at the FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017.

Share this:

Facebook Comments
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Security Check *