France Crowned World Cup Champions For The Second Time

For the second time in 20 years, France have emerged as World Cup champions following a 4-2 defeat of a Croatia side that reached the finals of the tournament for the first time in history.

The victory for France also means Deschamps who coached the French team is the third person to win the World Cup as both a player and a manager, after Brazil’s Mario Zagallo and Germany’s Franz Beckenbauer.

Croatia who became the first team to lose in their first appearance in a World Cup final since Netherlands did so in 1974 also ran out of luck in the thriller encounter, as they possessed the ball more than the French side who capitalised on counter-attacks to emerge victorious.

The Croats will also have their heads held high despite losing to France in the encounter even though Mandzukic became the first player to score an own goal in a World Cup final.

Real Madrid maestro Luka Modric won the Golden Ball award, while Mbappe who is the second youngest player to score in a World Cup final after Pele for Brazil in 1958 won the Best Young Player Award.

Share this:
Facebook Comments
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Security Check *