Jay-Jay Okocha Makes List of FIFA’s “Incredible Names”

Former Super Eagles captain Austin Jay-Jay Okocha has made a list of FIFA football legends (a stellar XI of FIFA Legends) who were responsible for deciding on the nominees for the men’s world best player award.

According to a publication on the official website of the world governing football body, the names of those who decided the nominees were described as “Some incredible nominees”, with Nigeria’s Austin Jay-Jay Okocha being one of the eleven legends that made the list.

Other legends who are also on the list are Cafu (Bra), Landon Donovan (USA), Enzo Francescoli(URU), Alex Frei (SUI), Hidetoshi Nakata(JPN), Diego Maradona(ARG), Carles Puyol(ESP), Carlos Valderrama(COL), Edwin van der Sar(NED) and Ivan Vicelich(NZL).

Okocha is the only African player making the list of a panel that consist of representatives from all the six of FIFA’s confederations.

It will be recalled, that the former Olympic gold medalist was recently invited to Russia for the legends match which took place before the kick-off of the FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia, where he played alongside former club member Ronaldinho and Argentine idol Diego Maradona.


Share this:
Facebook Comments
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Security Check *