Marcelo Admits: The Ball Hit My Hand

Real Madrid left-back Marcelo has admitted that the ball hit his hand in the second-leg match against Bayern Munich that saw his side progress to the final of the champions league tournament following a 2-2 draw.

Speaking to reporters after the match, Marcelo confirmed the contact, saying: “The ball hit my hand. You already know I don’t speak to the referee. He’s already erred against us.

“Now I can’t come here and talk about the referee again.

“It’s what happened. It’s difficult because there’s a lot in front of you, but if I say that it didn’t touch my hand, I’d be a liar.” ESPN quoted the left back

The result put Real on pace to win their fourth Champions League title in the past five years, and third in a row, despite a disappointing domestic campaign.

The Bernabeu side have reached (16) and won (12) more Champions League finals than any other club and Marcelo highlighted his side’s approach.

“We go game to game, season to season,” he said. “We don’t think a lot about the future. We know the start [of the season] was tough, now we have to enjoy and dispute this final.”

He added: “There are four finals in a very short time, I believe we are making history. To reach four finals in five years is difficult and here we are.”

Zinedine Zidane’s side drew 2-2 at the Bernabeu, winning 4-3 on aggregate, but would have gone out on away goals had they conceded one more to the German club.

 

Share this:
Facebook Comments
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Security Check *