Rugby: South Africa Thrash Scotland To Win Series Title

South Africa were crowned winners of this season’s World Rugby Sevens Series on Sunday, after beating Scotland 15-5 in the final of the penultimate leg in Paris according to report from Sky Sport.

The Blitzboks arrived in the French capital 25 points ahead of closest rivals Fiji in the standings, on the back of four tournament wins and seven consecutive finals.

With 22 points on offer for a tournament victory and just one round remaining, in London on May 20-21, South Africa clinched the title by seeing off New Zealand 26-5 in their own semi-final after third-placed England lost 19-17 to Scotland.

Scotland’s run of form saw them snap a 13-match losing run to stun Olympic champions Fiji 24-0 in the quarter-finals, having also edged South Africa in pool play on Saturday.

But the Blitzbokke had their revenge at a packed Jean Bouin stadium in western Paris, dominating a Scottish side that had gelled well but looked tired.

Share this:

Facebook Comments
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Security Check *