RUSSIA 2018 World Cup: Who Will Lift The Trophy In Russia?

The 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ is drawing ever nearer – with just 20 days to go! Between now and the start of the World Cup, we will take a closer look at a different statistic from the history of the tournament each day.

20 – No other sporting event captivates the world like the FIFA World Cup™. Eight different teams have lifted the Trophy in the 20 tournaments held since 1930 – Germany, Spain, Italy, Brazil, France, Argentina, England and Uruguay.

Many dramatic twists and turns have been etched in football’s history books along the way: USA’s win over England in 1950; Italy’s defeat by North Korea in 1966; the rise of Cameroon in the 1980s and the Indomitable Lions’ triumph over Argentina in the 1990 Opening Match…

The idea of bringing the world’s strongest international teams together to compete for the title of world champion was dreamt up by a group of French football officials led by the visionary Jules Rimet back in 1920, which is why the original gold-placed Trophy bears his name. When the cup was given to Brazil after their third title win in 1970, FIFA commissioned a new one. The current Trophy is 36.8cm high, crafted from solid 18-carat gold and weighs exactly 6,175 grams.

Who will be the next team to lift the World Cup Trophy at the 21st edition of the tournament in Russia? We will find out on 15 July.


Share this:
Facebook Comments
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Security Check *