UEFA Nations League: Draw Out As England Face Spain In First Ever Tournament

The draw for the first UEFA Nations League has seen the likes of Germany France and the Netherlands grouped together in its top league.

Belgium, Switzerland and Iceland, Portugal, Italy and Poland, and Spain, England and Croatia make up the other groups in League A. The remaining 43 teams have been split among groups in three further leagues based on UEFA seedings, each comprising of four sections apiece.

With the group stage running between September and November 2018, the new tournament has been introduced to provide a competitive alternative to friendlies in Europe, allowing teams to face similarly-ranked sides, as well as offering relegation and promotion between leagues.

This new tournament will see European nations competing against each other in a league format. The top four nations will then compete in the ‘Final Four’, a summer showpiece event to be held in 2019.

The UEFA Nations League is the culmination of six years of planning by European football’s governing body.

The four League A group winners will contest at the Nations League Finals in June 2019, while the competition will also provide a secondary path to UEFA EURO 2020 for sides who miss out in the traditional ten-group qualifiers. The top two in each EURO 2020 qualifying group will qualify, with the top 16 sides based on Nations League rankings battling for the final four tournament spots through playoffs in March 2020.

UEFA Nations League draw

League A
Group 1: Germany France, the Netherlands
Group 2: Belgium, Switzerland, Iceland
Group 3: Portugal, Italy, Poland
Group 4: Spain, England, Croatia

League B
Group 1: Slovakia, Ukraine, Czech Republic
Group 2: Russia, Sweden, Turkey
Group 3: Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Ireland
Group 4: Wales, Republic of Ireland, Denmark

League C
Group 1: Scotland, Albania, Israel
Group 2: Hungary, Greece, Finland, Estonia
Group 3: Slovenia, Norway, Bulgaria, Cyprus
Group 4: Romania, Serbia, Montenegro, Lithuania

League D
Group 1: Georgia, Latvia, Kazakhstan, Andorra
Group 2: Belarus, Luxembourg, Moldova, San Marino
Group 3: Azerbaijan, Faroe Islands, Malta, Kosovo
Group 4: FYR Macedonia, Armenia, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar

Credits:fifa.com/Mirror Sport

Share this:

Facebook Comments
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Security Check *